Regional Profile


1.  History

Background of the Region

Negros Island Region covers the provinces of Negros Occidental and Negros Oriental.  Total land area of the region is 13,351 km² Negros Occidental 7,965.21 km² and Negros oriental 5,402.30 km²

The province of Negros Occidental was used to be called “Buglas” but the Spaniards changed it to Negros due to the predominant presence of Negritoes.

2.  Administrative Jurisdiction

The Negros Island Region is located in Central Philippines and composed of two (2) provinces namely: Negros Occidental and Negros Oriental.  It is subdivided into nine (9) congressional districts.  

Negros Island Region has nineteen (19) cities, thirty-eight (38) municipalities and one thousand two hundred nineteen (1,219) barangays.  The Province of Negros Occidental has the higher number of cities at thirteen (13) including its capital, Bacolod City.  The province of Negros Oriental has 6 (6) cities including its capital, Dumaguete City.

 3.  Physical Characteristics

a.  Land Area

The region has a total land area of 1, 306, 854 hectares. The Province of Negros  Occidental is the bigger in terms of land area with 792,607 hectares and Negros oriental Province has 514, 247 hectares.

Land Area Graph of Negros Island Region

b.  Land Classification

Negros Island Region has a total land area of 1, 306, 854 hectares.  It is classified into Forestland covering an area of 505, 345 hectares and Alienable and Disposable lands covering 801, 508 hectares.

The Province of Negros Occidental has a total land area of 792,607 hectares of which 68% or 540,385.62 hectares are classified as A & D, while 32% or 252,221.38 hectares are classified as Forestland.

The Province of Negros Oriental has a total land area of 792,607  hectares of which 68% or 540,385.62 hectares are classified as A & D, while 32% or 252,221.38 hectares are classified as Forestland.

c.  Forest Cover

DENR Negros Island Region, the forest cover is measured at 260,642.74 hectares or equivalent to 12.89 percent of the total land area of the region.  5.27% of the forest cover is classified as closed forest; 5.11% as open forest; 0.28% as plantation forest and 2.23% as mangrove forest.

d.  Production and Protection Forests

Of the total forestland area of  Negros Occidental,  Production forest accounts for 56.8% or 143,195.31 hectares and 43.2% or 109,026.07 hectares are protection forest; It has three proclaimed Protected Area and two are initial components for inclusion under NIPAS; It has three Priority watershed area covered by MOA with National Irrigation Administration (NIA) for rehabilitation, the Bago , Pangiplan and Tabla Valley Watersheds

e.  Watershed Areas


10,400.06 Hectares; PP 602, S. June 28, 1990 


61,926 Hectares; PP 604, S. of June 28, 1990

f.  Protected Areas

With the implementation of RA 7586 or the NIPAS Law of 1992, the region has six (6) proclaimed  Protected Areas (Pas). The Sagay Marine Reserve (SMR), Mount Kanla-on Natural Park (MKNP) and the Northern Negros Natural Park in Negros Occidental. The Apo Island Protected Landscape and Seascape (AIPLS) , Balinsasayao Twin Lakes Natural Park (BTLNP) and Tañon Strait Protected Seascape (TSPS) in Negros Oriental.

Among the six (6) sites identified as initial components, three (3) were proclaimed in Negros Occidental following the procedures provided in the law, covering an approximate area of 62,059.07 hectares. Two (2) of these were enacted in CY 2001 namely: the Sagay Marine Reserve (Republic Act No. 9106 dated April 14, 2001) in the City of Sagay,  covering an area of 32,000.00  hectares which features five (5) species of giant clams, four (4) species of sea turtles including the hawksbill sea-turtle which was considered to be endangered and giant fruit bats. 


Mt. Kanla-on Natural Park (Republic Act No. 9154 dated August 11, 2001) located in the  Cities of Bago, La Carlota, and San Carlos and in the Municipalities of La Castellana and Murcia, Province of Negros Occidental, and in the City of Canlaon and Municipality of   Vallehermoso, Province of Negros Oriental and covers an area of 24,557.60 hectares. and Northern Negros Natural Park located in the cities of Talisay, Victorias and Cadiz and in the municipalities of Murcia, Don Salvador Benedicto and Calatrava with an area of 80,454.50 while the designated buffer zone covers 169.00 hectares. It has 71 PAMB Members and has Critically Endangered Species namely the Kaningag (Cinnamomum mercadoi), Lady-slipper Orchid (Phaphiopedelium hennisianum), Philippine spotted deer (Cervus alfredi) Negros bleeding heart (Gallicolumba keayi) Visayan Warty Pig (Sus cebifrons).


The Apo Island Protected Seascape and Landscape (AIPLS) was proclaimed as protected area by virtue of the Presidential Proclamation No. 438 dated August 9, 1994 by former Pres.  Fidel V. Ramos. The Protected Area covers approximately  681 hectares 72.67 hectares terrestrial and 618.34 hectares marine. It covers the city of Dauin having six (6) PAMB Members.


Balinsasayao Twin Lakes Natural Park (BTLNP) was proclaimed as Protected Area by virtue of Presidential   Proclamation No. 414 on November 21, 2000 by His Excellency President Joseph Ejercito Estrada, in order to protect it from indiscriminate exploitation and to be able to maintain its ecological balance.Total Area is 8,016.05 hectares. It covers the cities and municipalities of Sibulan, Valencia and San Jose in Negros Oriental. It consists of twenty-one (21) PAMB Members. It features the Twin Crater Lakes and houses some endangered species like the Visayan Tarictic (Penelopides panini) and Negros bleeding heart (Gallicolumba keayi)



Tañon Strait Protected Seascape  was proclaimed as Protected Area by Presidential Proclamation 1234 on May 17, 1998 with an area of 518, 221.00 hectares covering the 6 cities and 12 municipalities of Negros Island Region. A total of 160 NIR PAMB Members, 46 from Negros Occidental and 115 from Negros Oriental. It is considered to be among the Eco Regions with the highest marine biodiversity. Chambered nautilus (Nautilus pompilius) is considered endangered that can be found in Tañon Strait Protected Seascape.